The Quincy Mine is located in the Keweenaw Peninsula of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Mining operations have been closed since 1945, but the site is preserved as a cooperating site of the Keweenaw National Historical Park.

The Quincy Mine properties are owned and operated by the Quincy Mine Hoist Association, Inc., a not-for-profit, 501(c)(3) corporation created to preserve and educate the public about this largely forgotten chapter of our American heritage. 

Things to See & Do:

  • Guided tour of underground copper mine
  • Ride inside the mine on the Quincy Electric Reversible Mine Transport (QERMiT).
  • Quincy #2 Shafthouse: constructed in 1908, a marvel of engineering efficiency
  • Take a closer look at the shaft house
  • Nordberg Steam Hoist: largest steam-powered hoist engine ever built
  • Passenger Cog Rail Tram: Takes you from the top of Quincy Hill to the East Adit (mine entrance)
  • Experience the panoramic view of the Portage Lake Lift Bridge, Houghton, and the Huron Mountains
  • Miner's Memorial House
  • Gift Shop: Buy tour tickets here & shop for mining-related books, videos & souvenirs
  • Summertime hours: 7 days a week


Guided Tours & Rates

Photo By: Charles EshbachQuincy Mine Attractions - Steam Hoist